Snippets

Sampler Album

No, not ‘Sampler Album Quilts,’

that’s a real soft cover paper book.

This is my first Fabric Book

img_4565-small

August -November 2008

Soon after I got tangled up in the World Wide Web I joined the on-line group Stitchin Fingers, then joined the Fibre Book group which is one of many sub groups within Stitchin Fingers.

I decided to make a textile book, and started looking for bits and pieces to use rather than start from scratch.

The one thing I was looking for was a ‘page’ of crazy patchwork I did while we lived in Snowtown in 1988, when I belonged to the NYP Quilters, and one of the members, Doris Kennett, offered to show us some of the basics of crazy patchwork.

While looking for that I found some experimental blocks I made up while trying to work out what to do next while making ‘Nigel’s First Formal’

Two of those would fit on a page.

snippets-11

The search also turned up a cross stitch of a native violet which I had forgotten about, and though it was a bit big, it would become another page.snippets-21

I wanted to include a sample of one of the mini cross stitch kits I designed and packed to sell at craft fairs in the early 1990s, and most had been glued onto the pages of a folder with all the designs and requirement lists, but one had been missing when I put the folder together.snippets-41

I found the sample of crazy patchwork, but by now I was on a roll, so kept looking to see what else would turn up.

snippets-31

I opened an unlabelled shoe box. and found a heap of Stringpetts, little dolls I had designed with string arms and legs, which had never been finished. Three of them would fill a page.

snippets-51

Another box held some leftover fans made up but not used in ‘Fans for Midori”, and one of them was trimmed to fit on a page, along with a fabric brooch made about the same time as that piece of crazy patchwork.

snippets-8

A tin contained leftover bits and pieces of several fused applique projects, and I found parts of three different projects which could be used together,. to make a very original design, using a waratah flower from ‘Bush Garlands’ along with leaves from a William Morris Workshop tutored by Michelle Hill, joined together with a strip left over from my original design ‘French Onion.’ quiltsnippets-12.

A bear which didn’t fit on the ‘You Can’t Have Too Many Bears’ wall hanging was joined on the inside of the back page by a doll prepared for hand applique leftover from the still unfinished 3D dolls quilt, a raw edged heart not used on a series of dolls which held their hearts in their hands, and another heart cut from a scrap of a machine quilting practice piece.…….snippets-6

The scraps of wadding were starting to run out, so a handful of buttons was added to each page, and samples of furnishing fabric became the covers.snippets-7

It was joined together with a stitch which I think I invented which allows the pages to open flat, with beads between the pages so that it doesn’t bulge instead of sitting flat when closed

img_4567-cropped

This is my first fabric book, but it won’t be my last. I will have to do a button sample book, a fabric sample book (like the ones we did in Home Ec. at school), more sample books with future finds (after I fill up the backs of the pages of the first one perhaps), special edition pattern books, a photo album printed on fabric, lace sample book, a book of stitcheries, ………..

all the materials for these are in the sewing room just waiting for me to use!

2 thoughts on “Snippets

  1. Judy, this is great! What a fantastic way to have a “tidy up” in the sewing room!

    I am curious about how you have spaced your pages with the beads – is this a possible short tutorial perhaps?

    Regards

    Robbie

    • Robbie,

      I am working on another couple of fabric books, and IF I can remember how I did it, or work out another way of doing it, I will write a tutorial. Maybe next month …….

      Judy B

Leave a Reply

