Tree Top with Strings of Beads

November 2013

IMG_1202

In 2004 I was given a tree to use in a display and the owner didn’t want it back even after I had tidied it up somewhat.

It had foliage all the way to the bottom at that point, but as I put it away early this year the bottom branches just fell off!

I tried to work out a method of putting it all back together again, and I think I could have but with the help of all the King’s horses and all the King’s men. They were busy elsewhere, and as I also wanted a tree top to use as above I had the perfect excuse to make something I wanted anyway!

IMG_1203

I wrapped the now naked tree trunk with fabric strips over the bare timber dowel.

The small beaded drops had been waiting for a tree to hang about on, so they came out of the cupboard, then I made the strings of beads to fall from the lowest branches all the way to the bottom of the trunk.

IMG_1204

The star on the top was used on the tree before it lost its lower foliage.

IMG_1205

I found the ribbon tied to the trunk at a car boot sale in Loxton when I went through there on my way to the Renmark Quilt Exhibition after I had the rest of the tree ready for Christmas.

Wonder how many more lives this tree will have?

Leave a Reply

